Butterflies undergo metamorphosis through four stages of development.

  1. Egg: An adult lays eggs on a leaf of a plant.
  2. Larva: An egg hatches into a larva (caterpillar). It eats leaves and sheds its skin several times to become a pupa.
  3. Pupa: The pupa stays still and grows into an adult in a hard shell called a chrysalis.
  4. Adult: The chrysalis splits and the adult emerges.


  1. たまご成虫せいちゅうにたまごをうみます。
  2. 幼虫ようちゅうたまごがかえって、幼虫(アオムシ)になります。葉をべ、数回すうかい脱皮だっぴして、さなぎになります。
  3. さなぎ: さなぎはかたからなかでじっととどまり、成虫のからだに成長せいちょうします。
  4. 成虫: さなぎの殻れて、成虫が羽化うかします。

You may also like